Best AI Receptionists
An AI receptionist picks up the phone, qualifies the caller, and books a time or takes a message. Smith.ai also sells live agents. Jobber's receptionist is an add-on to its field-service plans, not a standalone phone product. Prices below were read on each vendor's site on 5 October 2026.
10 products. Prices and descriptions last checked 5 October 2026.
Best AI Receptionists compared
Pricing is the vendor's published starting figure. A free plan or trial is listed only when the pricing page says so. User comments appear only when we could link a short quote. Otherwise the cell says there are no sourced comments.
| Product | Pricing | Free plan / trial | Key features | Integrations | Best for | What users say |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai #1 | From $0/mo | Free plan | AI and live agents handle law-firm intake, qualification, and consult booking 24/7. | Clio, Filevine, Lawmatics, MyCase | Law firms that want intake answered and booked around the clock | On r/smallbusiness, people looking for a sales-oriented receptionist still name Smith.ai as one of the established services, and they say it can do basic qualification. Reddit |
| Upfirst #2 | From $24.95/mo | Trial | AI answering service that qualifies leads, books appointments, and transfers calls. | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity | Small businesses that want per-call answering with scheduling | In that same small-business thread, Upfirst is the budget suggestion, with the commenter putting it around $25 a month. Reddit |
| Goodcall #3 | From $79/mo | Trial | Voice AI phone agent that businesses launch from a website, Google listing, or business details. | Zapier, Google Voice | Small and larger businesses that want a self-serve AI phone agent | No sourced comments. |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist #4 | From $39/mo | Trial | AI receptionist that answers calls and texts and can sit on an existing phone system. | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Google Calendar | Businesses that already use a phone system and want an AI front desk | No sourced comments. |
| Rosie #5 | From $49/mo | Trial | AI answering service for small businesses that answers, books, and texts call details. | Zapier | Solo owners and small local businesses that miss calls | No sourced comments. |
| Dialzara #6 | From $29/mo | Trial | AI receptionist with inbound minutes plus separate outbound, SMS, and chat plans. | Zapier, Make, Google Calendar, Outlook | Small businesses that want a low monthly inbound plan plus optional outbound | No sourced comments. |
| My AI Front Desk #7 | From $99/mo | Not listed | AI front office that talks, texts, and chats, then books and writes back to a CRM. | Zapier | Small businesses that want voice plus chat, SMS, and a built-in CRM | No sourced comments. |
| Newo.ai #8 | From $299/mo | Free plan | Voice AI that answers calls and completes the next step in existing systems. | None named on the pages we opened | Small businesses that want a unit-priced AI receptionist | No sourced comments. |
| Jobber AI Receptionist #9 | Add-on $29/mo, or included on Plus | Trial | Jobber add-on that answers home-service calls and texts and can book visits. | Jobber | Home service businesses already running on Jobber | No sourced comments. |
| Sameday AI #10 | From $449/mo | Not listed | AI phone answering and contact center for home service businesses. | ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro | Home service companies that book jobs into a field-service CRM | No sourced comments. |
Ranked list
Ranked on fit for this job, autonomy, controls, integrations, access, and how public the product is. Open a score to see the six parts.
| # | Agent | Best for | Pricing from | Free tier | Autonomy | Integrations | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Smith.ai | Law firms that want intake answered and booked around the clock | From $0/mo | Yes | Semi-autonomous | Clio, Filevine, Lawmatics +5 | Score breakdown88
|
| 2 | Upfirst | Small businesses that want per-call answering with scheduling | From $24.95/mo | Trial | Autonomous | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly +5 | Score breakdown84
|
| 3 | Goodcall | Small and larger businesses that want a self-serve AI phone agent | From $79/mo | Trial | Autonomous | Zapier, Google Voice | Score breakdown80
|
| 4 | RingCentral AI Receptionist | Businesses that already use a phone system and want an AI front desk | From $39/mo | Trial | Autonomous | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho +3 | Score breakdown79
|
| 5 | Rosie | Solo owners and small local businesses that miss calls | From $49/mo | Trial | Autonomous | Zapier | Score breakdown78
|
| 6 | Dialzara | Small businesses that want a low monthly inbound plan plus optional outbound | From $29/mo | Trial | Autonomous | Zapier, Make, Google Calendar +1 | Score breakdown78
|
| 7 | My AI Front Desk | Small businesses that want voice plus chat, SMS, and a built-in CRM | From $99/mo | No | Autonomous | Zapier | Score breakdown77
|
| 8 | Newo.ai | Small businesses that want a unit-priced AI receptionist | From $299/mo | Yes | Autonomous | None named on the pages we opened | Score breakdown71
|
| 9 | Jobber AI Receptionist | Home service businesses already running on Jobber | Add-on $29/mo, or included on Plus | Trial | Semi-autonomous | Jobber | Score breakdown70
|
| 10 | Sameday AI | Home service companies that book jobs into a field-service CRM | From $449/mo | No | Semi-autonomous | ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro | Score breakdown70
|
Rank 1
Smith.ai88
Law firms that want intake answered and booked around the clock
- Pricing from
- From $0/mo
- Free tier
- Yes
- Autonomy
- Semi-autonomous
- Integrations
- Clio, Filevine, Lawmatics
Score breakdown88
- Fit for the job29/30
- Autonomy13/20
- Controls12/15
- Integrations15/15
- Access10/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 2
Upfirst84
Small businesses that want per-call answering with scheduling
- Pricing from
- From $24.95/mo
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly
Score breakdown84
- Fit for the job25/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations14/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 3
Goodcall80
Small and larger businesses that want a self-serve AI phone agent
- Pricing from
- From $79/mo
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Zapier, Google Voice
Score breakdown80
- Fit for the job28/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations7/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
79
Businesses that already use a phone system and want an AI front desk
- Pricing from
- From $39/mo
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho
Score breakdown79
- Fit for the job23/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations11/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 5
Rosie78
Solo owners and small local businesses that miss calls
- Pricing from
- From $49/mo
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Zapier
Score breakdown78
- Fit for the job27/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations6/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 6
Dialzara78
Small businesses that want a low monthly inbound plan plus optional outbound
- Pricing from
- From $29/mo
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Zapier, Make, Google Calendar
Score breakdown78
- Fit for the job24/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations9/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 7
My AI Front Desk77
Small businesses that want voice plus chat, SMS, and a built-in CRM
- Pricing from
- From $99/mo
- Free tier
- No
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- Zapier
Score breakdown77
- Fit for the job26/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations6/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 8
Newo.ai71
Small businesses that want a unit-priced AI receptionist
- Pricing from
- From $299/mo
- Free tier
- Yes
- Autonomy
- Autonomous
- Integrations
- None named on the pages we opened
Score breakdown71
- Fit for the job20/30
- Autonomy17/20
- Controls11/15
- Integrations4/15
- Access10/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 9
Jobber AI Receptionist70
Home service businesses already running on Jobber
- Pricing from
- Add-on $29/mo, or included on Plus
- Free tier
- Trial
- Autonomy
- Semi-autonomous
- Integrations
- Jobber
Score breakdown70
- Fit for the job22/30
- Autonomy13/20
- Controls12/15
- Integrations6/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Rank 10
Sameday AI70
Home service companies that book jobs into a field-service CRM
- Pricing from
- From $449/mo
- Free tier
- No
- Autonomy
- Semi-autonomous
- Integrations
- ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro
Score breakdown70
- Fit for the job21/30
- Autonomy13/20
- Controls12/15
- Integrations7/15
- Access8/10
- Evidence9/10
Pricing, features, and summaries
1
Smith.ai
Law firms that want intake answered and booked around the clock
Smith.ai answers calls, qualifies leads, books consultations, and syncs intake into a firm's CRM. The homepage describes three staffing modes: AI-first, hybrid, and human-first, with live North American agents available to take complex calls.
- Pricing
- From $0/mo
- On https://smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist the AI Receptionist has Free at $0/mo for 25 real calls ($3.00/call after that), Pro at $150/mo ($2.00/call, about 75 calls) with 150-call (−10%) and 300-call (−17%) options at $1.80 and $1.67 per real call, and Enterprise at $500/mo ($1.67/call, about 300 calls) with a 500-call rate of $1.60 and 1000+ custom. Extra-call rates on that page are $3.00 (Free), $2.50/$2.30/$2.17 (Pro), and $2.17/$2.10/custom (Enterprise). The homepage also says hybrid starts at $2.50/call and human-first at $7/call, and that AI runs about $1-2 per call, virtual receptionist about $6-10, and hybrid about $2-5. Month-to-month; 30 days' notice to cancel the AI plan. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Clio, Filevine, Lawmatics, MyCase, PracticePanther, Smokeball, Litify, Rocket Matter. It can carry a stretch of the work, then wait. A person still approves anything that leaves the building.
What users say
On r/smallbusiness, people looking for a sales-oriented receptionist still name Smith.ai as one of the established services, and they say it can do basic qualification.
The same comment says not to expect real sales skill. Smith.ai is described as a message taker, not a closer.
“For traditional receptionist services, Smith ai and Ruby are the big ones. They can do basic qualification and describe services but don't expect real sales skills. They're message takers, not closers.”
Reddit
2
Upfirst
Small businesses that want per-call answering with scheduling
Upfirst answers business calls, collects lead details, books into a calendar, and can warm-transfer with context. The site says it can be trained from a website and set up through the dashboard or through ChatGPT or Claude.
- Pricing
- From $24.95/mo
- https://upfirst.ai/pricing lists Starter at $24.95/month for 30 calls ($20/month on the discounted rate shown) and $1.50 per extra call; Premium at $59.95 for 90 calls ($48) and $1 extra; Pro at $159.95 for 300 calls ($128) and $0.75 extra; Scale at $299 for 600 calls ($240) and $0.70 extra; Custom above 600 calls. The page says annual billing is 20% off. A 14-day trial includes full access to the selected plan. Spam, calls under 15 seconds, and silent calls are not billed. Each extra agent is $9.95 per month. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square, Clio, Zapier, ChatGPT. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
What users say
In that same small-business thread, Upfirst is the budget suggestion, with the commenter putting it around $25 a month.
The comment is a suggestion, not a write-up of a failed install. We did not find a first-hand complaint in the lines we could read.
“Depends how much you want to spend. On the more expensive end, there's AnswerConnect. (All humans.) But if you're on a budget then based on what we're describing, you could probably build that out with Upfirst.ai which is like $25/mo.”
Reddit
3
Goodcall
Small and larger businesses that want a self-serve AI phone agent
Goodcall answers and automates inbound customer and sales calls, including appointment booking, lead capture, and transfer to a person. The site says agents can be set up without an engineering team and lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, and HIPAA compliance software.
- Pricing
- From $79/mo
- https://www.goodcall.com/pricing lists Starter at $79/month per agent (annual shown as $66), Growth at $129/month (annual $108), and Scale at $249/month (annual $208), with annual labeled 15% off. Starter includes unlimited minutes and tokens, 1 logic flow, 3 team members, 3 directory contacts, 7 days of call and customer details, and 100 unique customers, then $0.50 per customer. Growth includes 250 unique customers ($0.50 after that). Scale includes 500 unique customers. Enterprise is custom. The page says it does not charge for call count, minutes, or AI tokens. The page title says a free trial; the body I retrieved does not state the trial length. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Zapier, Google Voice. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
4
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Businesses that already use a phone system and want an AI front desk
RingCentral AI Receptionist answers inbound calls in natural language, handles FAQs, captures leads, books appointments, sends SMS, and routes calls with a summary. It is sold standalone or as a RingEX add-on in the U.S.
- Pricing
- From $39/mo
- https://www.ringcentral.com/pricing/ai-receptionist.html says the U.S. standalone plan starts at $49 per month with 100 minutes, or $39 per month as a RingEX add-on, also with 100 minutes. Overage is $0.50 per minute, billed in 30-second increments, and extra minute bundles are available. Both plans include a 14-day free trial. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Google Calendar, Outlook, RingEX. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing and features/RingCentral AI Receptionist alternatives
5
Rosie
Solo owners and small local businesses that miss calls
Rosie is trained from a Google Business Profile and website, answers calls 24/7, takes messages, and can book appointments or transfer to a person. The site also includes website chat on every plan and optional website texting.
- Pricing
- From $49/mo
- https://heyrosie.com/pricing shows Professional at $49 per month (250 minutes, custom message taking for 2 scenarios, appointment links by text, spam detection, website chat), Scale at $149 per month (1,000 minutes, 5 message scenarios, calendar booking, warm and live transfers, texts during the call), and Growth at $299 per month (2,000 minutes, unlimited message scenarios, waterfall transfers, custom training, white-glove onboarding, priority support). Annual billing is labeled 2 months free. A 7-day free trial is offered. Website texting is an add-on at $50 per month for 25 conversations, then $1 per extra conversation. The page did not state the per-minute overage rate in the text retrieved. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Zapier. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
6
Dialzara
Small businesses that want a low monthly inbound plan plus optional outbound
Dialzara answers inbound calls, takes messages, and can book appointments and transfer calls. The same account can add outbound voice agents, two-way SMS, and a website chatbot.
- Pricing
- From $29/mo
- https://dialzara.com/pricing (labeled current as of 2026) lists inbound Business Lite $29/month for 60 minutes ($0.48/min over), Pro $99 for 220 minutes ($0.45), Plus $199 for 500 minutes ($0.40), and Elite $349 for 1,000 minutes ($0.35). Outbound is separate: Starter $750 for 1,500 contacts, Growth $1,000 for 2,000, Scale $1,500 for 3,000. SMS is $19/month plus $0.05 per AI message, with carrier fees at $0.0083 per segment. Website chatbot is $39/month standalone or included with a voice plan (100 sessions, then $0.15). US/Canada local numbers are $3/month and US toll-free numbers $5/month. 7-day free trial. No setup fee and no long-term contract.
- Key features
- Zapier, Make, Google Calendar, Outlook. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
7
My AI Front Desk
Small businesses that want voice plus chat, SMS, and a built-in CRM
Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) answers calls and also handles web chat, SMS, email, and WhatsApp, with memory across those channels. The site says you forward an existing number, the agent follows your instructions, and it can book on a live calendar or hand off to a person.
- Pricing
- From $99/mo
- https://www.myaifrontdesk.com/pricing says Business-in-a-Box is $99/mo, or $79/mo billed annually, with 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations, 400 SMS, 500 email drafts, 20 outbound calls per day, 1,000 monthly overage credits, and auto-reload at $10 for 1,000 credits. Overage is listed as 25 credits per voice minute (1 credit = $0.01), 4 credits per SMS, 5 per chatbot conversation, and 4 per form lead. Partner/Enterprise is custom. That page says Frontdesk does not offer a permanently free plan. The homepage FAQ still describes a Free plan with limited monthly usage and no credit card. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Zapier. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
My AI Front Desk pricing and features/My AI Front Desk alternatives
8
Newo.ai
Small businesses that want a unit-priced AI receptionist
Newo builds an agent from a business website and handles calls, bookings, questions, routing, and service requests. The pricing page says inbound calling, web chat, and social messaging are on every plan, and outbound calling is off by default except on the AI Receptionist and Enterprise plans.
- Pricing
- From $299/mo
- https://newo.ai/pricing lists Pay As You Go at $0/mo to start with 50 free units once per account, then $1.75 per unit and no payment method required to start; AI Receptionist at $299/mo with 200 units per month and $1.50 per extra unit; Enterprise is custom. A unit is roughly one voice call of 30 seconds to 3 minutes, or about 30 text messages; calls of 30 seconds or less are 0.2 units, and longer calls bill in 3-minute increments. Monthly billing, no long-term lock-in. One plan covers one agent at one location. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- None named on the pages we opened. Sold to run the job rather than wait for a prompt on every step. Keep a way to stop it before it reaches a customer, a candidate, or a filing.
9
Jobber AI Receptionist
Home service businesses already running on Jobber
Jobber Receptionist answers calls and texts for home service businesses using data already in Jobber, including services and booking settings. It can book a visit, create a work request, take a message, or transfer or text the owner.
- Pricing
- Add-on $29/mo, or included on Plus
- The feature page links to pricing and says to start a Jobber trial with no credit card required, but it does not list a Receptionist dollar price. Jobber Help (https://help.getjobber.com/hc/en-us/articles/25315927533847-Receptionist-powered-by-Jobber-AI) says Receptionist is included on the Plus plan with unlimited usage, and can be added to select plans for $29 per month including 30 conversations, then $0.79 per extra conversation. Spam and “no conversation” tags do not count. A separate Jobber help article on add-ons says Receptionist includes 100 conversations per month and does not state a price. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- Jobber. It can carry a stretch of the work, then wait. A person still approves anything that leaves the building.
Jobber AI Receptionist pricing and features/Jobber AI Receptionist alternatives
10
Sameday AI
Home service companies that book jobs into a field-service CRM
Sameday answers calls, texts customers, books jobs, and updates a CRM, with a human team able to review what the AI does. The homepage says it connects to ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, lead sources, and calendars, and that sensitive actions can wait for approval.
- Pricing
- From $449/mo
- https://sameday.ai/pricing lists Launch starting at $449 per month with 500 minutes, unlimited users, 3 locations, and pro scheduling such as ServiceTitan; Scale starting at $789 per month with 1,000 minutes, unlimited locations, and voice cloning; Enterprise is custom and adds multilingual voices, analytics, training, API access, and custom integrations. Signup is by demo. The page does not mention a free trial. Last checked 5 October 2026.
- Key features
- ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro. It can carry a stretch of the work, then wait. A person still approves anything that leaves the building.
What is an AI receptionist?
An AI receptionist is software that answers a business phone line. The better ones book, transfer, or write the message into the tool the office already uses. A live answering service is a person reading a script. Some vendors sell both and label the bundle AI.
People also search this as an AI answering service, an AI phone answering service, or an AI front desk. The job is the same: the phone gets picked up when nobody is at the desk. AI receptionist software is the monthly plan. A per-call hybrid is a different bill.
How an AI answering service works
The business number points at the vendor. A caller hears a voice, the software asks why they called, and it either books a slot, transfers, or takes a message. Smith.ai will also hand the hard calls to a person. Upfirst, Dialzara, Rosie, and Goodcall are closer to a software plan with a minute or call cap.
Jobber's receptionist is an add-on inside field-service software, so the booking lands on the Jobber schedule rather than in a separate calendar. RingCentral's version sits on a phone system you may already pay for. Newo and Sameday are standalone agents. Read whether the booking tool is included before you add another login.
Features of AI receptionist software
An AI phone answering service is only useful if it can do something with the call besides record it.
- A script for new callers versus existing customers
- Booking or a message, not only a recording
- A published monthly price or a clear per-call rate
- A handoff to a person on the calls the software should not finish
Benefits of an AI phone answering service
The gain is coverage during jobs and after hours, with a number you can read before a demo.
- Cover the hours nobody is at the desk
- See the per-call or monthly number before a demo
- Keep the call record in the CRM or the schedule the office already has
Who uses an AI receptionist for a small business
Small firms and local service businesses that miss calls during jobs. Law firms show up often because intake is the whole point of the call. HVAC and dental practices show up in the same search, and the product is still a phone agent, not a vertical miracle.
If you are building the call flow yourself and pricing it per minute, the voice agent list is the closer category. This page is the finished receptionist.
AI receptionist pricing
Starting points we could verify: Smith.ai from $0 for a limited AI tier, then per-call rates for the human service. Goodcall from $79/mo. Rosie from $49/mo. My AI Front Desk from $99/mo. Upfirst from $24.95/mo. Dialzara from $29/mo. Last checked 5 October 2026.
Smith.ai's free tier is not unlimited calling. Jobber's price is an add-on or a plan inclusion, not a standalone phone product. Custom and not published mean the vendor did not show a self-serve dollar amount on the pages we opened.
How to choose the best AI receptionist
If you want a published monthly price this week, start with Upfirst, Dialzara, Rosie, or Goodcall and read the minute caps. If you want a human on the hard calls, read Smith.ai's hybrid rates, not only the free AI tier.
If the business already runs on Jobber, price the receptionist add-on against a separate tool before you add another login. If you need to design the call yourself, leave this page for voice agents.
Related categories
Nearby jobs have their own lists. Open one when this page is only part of the work.
FAQ
Scoring method
Last verified 5 October 2026
Every product is scored out of 100 on the same six parts. Rank follows the total, then job fit, then name. The parts are shown on each row. Read the full method.